BOI 2023 logo


The Baltic Olympiad in Informatics is a programming contest for secondary school students around the Baltic sea. Over 60 secondary school students from 10 countries compete against each other, solving difficult problems of an algorithmic nature. Each country sends their top 6 contestants from previous national olympiads.

The BOI was founded in 1995, with three participating countries. Since then, it has grown to include 10 countries: Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Norway, Poland, Sweden. In addition, teams from other countries are sometimes invited as guests.

BOI shares its competition format with the International Olympiad in Informatics (IOI), which is the annual world programming championship for secondary school students. On each of two contest days, the contestants participate in a 5-hour exam. They are given a number of difficult algorithmic problems and are required to solve these by writing programs. Their programs are then evaluated and scored based on both efficiency and correctness. Several BOI countries take BOI results into account when selecting their teams for IOI.

In 2023, the BOI will be held in Denmark. It is the second time Denmark is hosting the competition.


Past BOIs

Some of the websites linked below are no longer online. Luckily, the Internet Archive Wayback Machine will partially revive much of what is gone.

2022๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ช Lรผbeck, Germany
2021๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ช Lรผbeck, Germany (Online)
2020๐Ÿ‡ฑ๐Ÿ‡ป Ventspils, Latvia (Online)
2019๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ช Tartu, Estonia
2018๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช Stockholm, Sweden
2017๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ด Bergen, Norway
2016๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ฎ Helsinki, Finland
2015๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ฑ Warsaw, Poland
2014๐Ÿ‡ฑ๐Ÿ‡น Palanga, Lithuania
2013๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ช Rostock, Germany
2012๐Ÿ‡ฑ๐Ÿ‡ป Ventspils, Latvia
2011๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ฐ Lyngby, Denmark
2010๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ช Tartu, Estonia
2009๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช Stockholm, Sweden
2008๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ฑ Gdynia, Poland
2007๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ช Gรผstrow, Germany
2006๐Ÿ‡ซ๐Ÿ‡ฎ Heinola, Finland
2005๐Ÿ‡ฑ๐Ÿ‡น Pasvalys, Lithuania
2004๐Ÿ‡ฑ๐Ÿ‡ป Ventspils, Latvia
2003๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ช Tartu, Estonia
2002๐Ÿ‡ฑ๐Ÿ‡น Vilnius, Lithuania
2001๐Ÿ‡ต๐Ÿ‡ฑ Sopot, Poland
2000๐Ÿ‡ธ๐Ÿ‡ช Haninge, Sweden
1999๐Ÿ‡ฑ๐Ÿ‡ป Riga, Latvia
1998๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ช Tarte, Estonia
1997๐Ÿ‡ฑ๐Ÿ‡น Vilnius, Lithuania
1996๐Ÿ‡ฑ๐Ÿ‡ป Riga, Latvia
1995๐Ÿ‡ช๐Ÿ‡ช Tartu, Estonia